Field open for District 1

As of Dec. 21, no one had filed to run for aldermanic seat

Dec. 24, 2012

Franklin - The deadline to declare candidacy to run for one of three aldermanic seats in the April 2 election is 5 p.m. Jan. 2.

As of Dec. 21, the city had all the necessary paperwork from one incumbent, Doug Schmidt in District 5, and two candidates vying for the District 2 seat currently held by Tim Solomon. No one had filed for the District 1 seat currently held by Steve Olson.

Olson and Solomon, both of whom have served for 13 years, recently announced they would not seek re-election.

The District 2 candidates are Curt Bolton, 8035 W. Imperial Drive, and Daniel Mayer, 10670 W. Candlestick Lane.

Aldermen serve three-year terms and are paid $7,200, plus $1,800 for mileage and expenses annually.

City Clerk Sandi Wesolowski said she expects more candidates to emerge, including some for District 1.

"We have always had candidates for the vacant seats," said Wesolowski, who has served for the past 28 years. "Some years are more active than others. It depends on the current climate and what issues are being discussed."

Wesolowski also said that anyone with a desire to hold office should feel comfortable declaring their candidacy.

"There's really not a lot of paperwork involved," she said. "I am happy to walk them through the process."

Candidates need to gather the signatures of 20 to 40 supporters.


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries