At least one contested race in Franklin

Opponents both have municipal experience

Dec. 31, 2012

Franklin - As of Dec. 28, the results of candidates submitting papers for the April 2 election indicate only one race in three districts is guaranteed to be contested.

The deadline for potential candidates to complete their official paperwork was Jan. 2, after press deadline.

District 1

In District 1, Greg Kowalski had filed all the necessary paperwork while Clark Johnson and Leroy Lewendowski were still considering their options.

Kowalski is a student at Milwaukee Area Technical College who is on the way to earning an associate degree in business. He also owns G&C's Collectibles, a website connected to He has headed Citizens for Community Development, an independent community development organization. He is a member of the city's Complete Streets and connectivity Committee.

Johnson is retired from the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, with his last assignment heading Lakeshore State Park near Milwaukee's Summerfest grounds.

Lewendowski is a retired manufacturing engineer for GM, who also worked for Marquette Electronics.

While Johnson and Lewendowski wanted to wait to specify their view on the aldermanic post until they completed their candidate filings, Kowalski said he favors the development of a city center while balancing growth with a sensitivity to land conservation.

"Communities like Greendale and Wauwatosa have that kind of center feel, but Franklin is different because of its size," he said. "I still think there are opportunities to approach that."

District 2

In District 2, candidates Curt Bolton and Daniel Mayer will face off.

Bolton became owner of an engineering consulting firm after serving the engineering departments in Greenfield and Sussex.

Bolton said he is focused on the cost of government per parcel and whether the city is adequately funding its roads.

"I think Franklin has been doing a very good job in this, but I think we should do more in comparing the city to other municipalities," Bolton said. "This should be an ongoing concern."

Mayer has been Cudahy's fire chief since 2009, after a 23-year stint serving the Franklin Fire Department.

Mayer said he favors a controlled growth approach.

"The last thing we should do is slow down development," he said, "but we do need to recognize that housing puts pressure on services. We will need to balance that with commercial development."

The District 1 and 2 seats are open to new representation because Steve Olson and Tim Solomon, two veteran aldermen who have served for 13 years, announced in November they would not seek re-election.

District 5

In District 5, Doug Schmidt will run for a second term. As of Dec. 28, he had no declared opponent.

Schmidt said he is looking forward to playing a greater role as he became more familiar with the Common Council and it issues during his first term.

"I feel like I've been successful in feeling my way around and feeding off others who are veteran on the council," he said.

He said he is most proud of his role in helping develop the 51st Street trail as well as the walkway from Forest Hill to the high school.

Election background

Aldermen serve three-year terms and are compensated $7,200 plus $1,800 for mileage and other expenses annually.

An update on all candidacy filings will appear in the Jan. 10 issue, as well as on


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries