Celebrations: July 12

July 10, 2012


The following graduates earned degrees from Mount Mary College in May: from Franklin, Pamela Mazza-Mueller, bachelor's degree in interior design, cum laude, and Holly Zeige, bachelor's in communication; from Hales Corners, Melinda Stuart, master's degree in dietetics; and from Oak Creek, Sarah Miller, bachelor's in art with honors.

Rhea Bozzacchi of Franlin earned her bachelor's degree, cum laude, in film and video from Columbia College in Chicago in May.

Nancy Chapko of Franklin earned an educational specialist degree in career and technical education, and Jared Kowalske of Franklin a bachelor's degree in golf enterprise management, from the University of Wisconsin-Stout in May.

Jody Thompson of Franklin earned her bachelor's degree in English and technical communication in May from Iowa State University in Ames, where she also made the spring semester dean's list.

Brett Bass of Oak Creek earned his associate degree in general studies from Iowa Western Community College in Council Bluffs in May.

Phillip Kirst of Franklin earned a diploma in guitar development and production from Minnesota State College-Southeast Technical in Red Wing in May.

The following students made the spring semester dean's list at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater: from Franklin, Nicole Anderson, David Bednar, Nicholas Caruso, Joseph Clapper, Eric Duchesneau, Brittany Flasch, Anthony Gamboeck, Kalana Graham, Karly Hall, Angeline Herrick, Callie Horton, Lisa Jome, Melissa Kennedy, Aaron Kooping, Philip Lambe, Kayla Lane, Emily Linnenkohl, Lauren Maersch, Jacob Mahnke, Diana Mantey, Lauren Martin, Alyssa Mayer, Thomas Salfer and Lee Smith; from Greendale, David Barriere, Brandon Bett, Daniel Bollmann, Deanne Carloni, Colleen Cate, David Jordan, Jacob Lesh, Lynn Marolt, Sean Marus, Mary Merg, Christopher Meythaler and Ameara Wahhab; from Hales Corners, Terese Eggert, Devin Grainger, Kelly White and Steven Wysocki; and from Oak Creek, Scott Albrecht, Chris Bournelis, Marissa Castle, Kyle Edwards, Sara Esselman, Bridgette Jordan, Brittany Kaestner, Corey Kennedy, Dani Khoury, Bryan O'Mahar, Meagan Palama, Bryan Schantzen, Nicholas Stilwell and Jacob Swerdlow.

Ashley Heard and Caitlyn Meyers of Franklin and Evan Johnson of Oak Creek made the spring semester dean's list at St. Norbert College in De Pere.

The following students made the spring semester dean's and honors lists at the Milwaukee School of Engineering: from Franklin, Christopher Dostal, Mark Fischbach, James Tobin and Stephanie Wall; from Hales Corners, Elizabeth Kelnhofer; and from Oak Creek, Joshua Garay, Collin Matthews and Johannes Strydom.

The following students made the spring semester dean's list at the University of Wisconsin-Waukesha: from Franklin, Leah Lessard, Diane Doll, Amy Hennen, Majd Naji, Herbert Conti Wanderley and Sarah Young; from Greendale, Jessica Armbruster; from Hales Corners, Rachel Dellevar, Trent Berglund and Kelly Klaybor; and from Oak Creek, Amanda Leighton and Phillip Stutzman.

The following students made the spring semester dean's list at Carthage College in Kenosha: from Franklin, Courtney Atkinson, Nicholas Brusky, Amy Schultz and Douglas Vodnik; from Greendale, Angela Fuller and Samantha Marus; and from Oak Creek, Matthew Abler, Joshua Heicher, Allison Johnson, Emily Nickel and Alyssa Sirocchi.

The following students made the spring semester dean's list at Marquette University: from Franklin, Jason Dejna, Lauren Grimshaw, Ayman Abdelkarim, Evan Hess, Alejandra Pettis, Rachael LaRosa, Abbey Christopherson, Heather Dirk, Stephenie Quirke, Daniel Jashinsky, Corey Bost, Brandon Barutt, Jaime Hanneman, David Nowak, John Janicek, Elizabeth Klancnik, Elizabeth Lenchek, Andrea Bequest, Sameh Syed, Samantha Zager and Samantha Lynch; from Greendale, Richard Schroeder, Ellen Krueger, Dean Nowalis, Jaime Rehm, Sarah Jo Thompson, Natalya Dodulik and Hannah Mares; from Hales Corners, Sara Mogensen, Matthew Mueller, Meghann Rosenwald, Nathaniel Helminiak and Kevin Stachowiak; and from Oak Creek, Varun Varma, Shaun Cero, Katie Steffan, Rachel Sayotovich, Emily Smith, Joshua Mueller and Aaron Gray.

Timothy Roettgen of Franklin made the spring semester dean's list at the University of Minnesota, Morris.

The following students made the spring semester honors lists at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point: from Franklin, Erica Dillig; from Greendale, Zachary Beard, Megan Briskie, Sarah Jordan, Travis Kahl and Kirsten Voss; from Hales Corners, Kristen Forseth, Allison Heller, Michelle LaFever and Chelsey Marcelini; and from Oak Creek, Jessica Breen, Margaret Cartwright, Jenna Crayton, Caitlin Lindsay and Jamie Nichol.

The following students made the spring semester dean's and president's lists at the Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design: from Franklin, Chelsea Beiler, Joshua Hintz, Aaron Malinowski, Michelle McCammon and Carly Sydow; from Greendale, Laura Hughes and Dan Mai; and from Oak Creek, Andrea Chasin.

Kristen Anhalt of Franklin made the spring semester dean's list at Clarke University in Dubuque, Iowa.

Taylor Atkinson of Franklin made the spring semester dean's list at Concordia University, St. Paul, in Minnesota.

Kelly Driscoll of Franklin made the spring semester honors list at Minnesota State University, Mankato.

Elizabeth Klancnik of Franklin, a nursing student at Marquette University, is studying abroad in Piura, Peru, this summer. In Piura, she will gain community clinical experience at a Catholic parish called Sacramento Santisimo and will develop a global view of healthcare by being immersed in a new culture.


Nicholas Mihalyi, Franklin High School graduate, earned a corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship award for his performance on the 2010 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Emily Hansen, Oak Creek High School graduate, earned an $8,000 scholarship from USTA Serves, the national charitable foundation of the U.S. Tennis Association, based on her academic success, community involvement and participation in tennis.


Gregory Ryan of Franklin, a certified public accountant and managing partner with KPMG in Milwaukee, has been named to the 2012-13 Wisconsin Institute of Certified Public Accountants board of directors. Ryan has more than 20 years of experience as a CPA, and he is a past director of the WICPA Educational Foundation Inc. He is a committee member for the United Performing Arts Fund, Marquette University's Alumni Association, and the Greater Milwaukee Committee.

Got some good news to share? We want to hear all about it. Send your announcements to Celebrations/NOW Newspapers, 1741 Dolphin Drive, Suite A, Waukesha 53186; or tonews@cninow.com .


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries