Conservatively Speaking

State Senator Mary Lazich (R-New Berlin) represents parts of four counties: Milwaukee, Waukesha, Racine, and Walworth. Her Senate District 28 includes New Berlin, Franklin, Greendale, Hales Corners, Muskego, Waterford, Big Bend, the town of Vernon and parts of Greenfield, East Troy, and Mukwonago. Senator Lazich has been in the Legislature for more than a decade. She considers herself a tireless crusader for lower taxes, reduced spending and smaller government.

Wisconsin counties and their property taxes ranked


The nonpartisan Tax Foundation in Washington D.C. has ranked all 788 counties in the United States with population of 65,000 or greater by property taxes paid, based on U.S. Census Bureau data.  Here are the top ten counties in Wisconsin and their national ranking.

Property Tax on Owner-Occupied Housing, by County, Ranked by Property Taxes Paid, 2005-2007 Average
The county is listed, followed by Median Property Taxes Paid on Homes, then the national ranking with #1 being the highest in property taxes:

1) Dane County                  $3,977                    46

2) Ozaukee County             $3,924                    51

3) Waukesha County          $3,864                    54

4) Milwaukee County          $3,544                    76

5) Pierce County                $3,395                    87

6) Washington County        $3,372                    90

7) Kenosha County            $3,363                     93

8) St. Croix County            $3,245                    103

9) Racine County               $3,101                    114

10) Walworth County          $3,013                    126

Here is the complete listing.

This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Page Tools